First Injury

Yesterday, I took Tyler to the doctor because he hurt his ankle. Here is the backstory: Sunday afternoon he was playing basketball and he came inside limping. I didn’t really think much about it until his friend came to ask him to play and he hesitated. I knew then it must be hurting more than I thought. Monday it was still hurting so I sent a note to school that he should not participate in P.E., recess was not an issue because it was raining. His little foot was still hurting that night so I decided to take him to the doctor. The doctor thinks he hyperextended his tendon. He has to rest his ankle for three days and he is not happy. He can not go to baseball practice, play outside, or play during recess. On the up side he can’t wait to show everyone his wrapped foot. After we left the doctor’s office he asked if he had a cast because he wanted to get it signed. Lilly wanted to draw a happy face “to show all the good times Tyler and I have.” That made me laugh! Tyler pointed out that it was the first time we went to the doctor for an injury. It got me to thinking about what is in store for us in the future. What injuries await us, broken bones or stitches? Having kids brings ups, downs, and the unknown. I must say this is and aspect of parenting I am not looking forward to.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

