Be An Organ Donor

Recently in the news there has been a story about a 10-year old girl waiting on a lung transplant. She has just weeks to live and due to the guidelines for a transplant she is not eligible for an adult lung(there are more adult lungs than pediatric). Her parents are fighting desperately to get the guidelines changed and to get their daughter the lungs she needs. This story hits close to home for me. My sister has Cystic Fibrosis, just like the girl in the story, and six years ago she has a double lung transplant. My sister was an adult in her mid-twenties when she need her transplant. It is a gut-wrenching experience! Everyday I left the hospital thinking, Will this be the last time I see her? I can’t imagine how  these parents feel.

However, the point of this blog is to talk about being an organ donor. This might be obvious, but I am an organ donor and was one long before my sister had her transplant. There are over 100,000 people waiting for a transplant in our country (info from Transplant Living Center). There is such a demand for organs today. We need more people to be organ donors and help to save many lives. This is a decision that should be made before hand. It is so hard for families to make this decision in the moment amongst their grief. I know I am incredibly grateful for the lungs my sister received and at the same time feel so sad for the family that lost their loved one. Both sides are so emotionally charged that everyone should think about their decision and talk to their family. I hope more people will become organ donors and save more lives.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

