Playing Softball

I am now playing softball in a league at my husband’s company. This was a big leap for me. In an earlier post I wrote about how I am an introvert and have trouble talking to new people. I do not know one person in the league! My husband runs the league and thought I would really like it and he asked me to play last year but I was too scared. This year I decided to just go for it! My first practice I was terrified!! I went out there and everyone was very nice. I played softball growing up and was very good at it so I knew what I was doing as far as the game is concerned. I played pitcher mostly when I was younger and that is my position on the team. We have had three games and I am not doing too bad. It has been 20 years since I played and I am shaking out some cobwebs. I am nervous around so many new people and it is taking some time to settle in. I do enjoy playing and each time I feel a little less nervous. I am glad I took the leap and jumped in! This good exercise that I enjoy, I am meeting new people, I am getting out of the house and doing something for me, and I am facing a real fear for me. My sister and mom come to watch me and the kids and my dad had come to one game. They are my very own cheering section. I am proud of myself for facing my fear and just going for it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Playing Softball

  1. pjchaney says:

    I started playing in a church league after 20+ years and was scared too. But it was a great experience. I met people in my own church I didn’t know. Talk about shaking out the cobwebs! I have gained a considerable amount of weight and decided getting back into softball might be a good way to do something different for exercise. Our season was short and already over, but I am already thinking of getting batting practice in before next season. I wish you the best!

Leave a Reply

