Why Are People So Cruel?

Recently, I read a story about a grandmother who was keeping her autistic  grandson for the summer when she received a very hateful letter from a neighbor. This letter was from a mother who was in some way bothered by the little boy. In the letter she never states what the boy did, but she says that the should be euthanized. What a horrible person! So, I was telling my mom about the story and was wondering why people were so mean when she told me the following story. My youngest sister was born with Cystic Fibrosis. A co-worker of my mom’s told her our family would be better off if my sister died. I was horrified when my mom went on to tell me that the same thing happened to my dad at his job. I do not understand how people can be so cruel. Do they not understand how hurtful their words are? When a family is dealing with this kind of news these comments are not at all helpful, they only hurt. I wold like people to remember to be compassionate and thoughtful. I just don’t understand people’s lack of compassion.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why Are People So Cruel?

  1. Anne Kelly says:

    How can people know what it is to love and find pleasure in people with disabilities, if they have never experienced it. I think these people lack experience rather than lacking compassion. Thankfully, there are more ways to integrate disabled people into our community.

    I heard a recent discussion on the radio program On Being that talked about the lessons we have to learn from people with mental disabilities, how we can learn to love each other better. http://www.onbeing.org/program/wisdom-tenderness/234

Leave a Reply

