Summer Vacation!/Grandparents

Summer vacation has officially begun! The kids are so excited! they each passed their grades with flying colors. I could not be more proud of my two little ones! This week is already crazy. We have been somewhere everyday. Today, we are at home and catching our breath. The kids have been very quiet. I think they needed some alone time. I am looking forward to this summer with the kids. Since I had the hole in my eardrum fixed I can go to the pool more this summer. We are planning to hit many parks and maybe some day trips to the beach. I am looking forward to a less strict schedule and not driving to school twice a day. We recently bought a slip and slide and they have enjoyed playing on it.

So this is how my newest post started and then my dad came over for a talk. He sat down and informed me that he no longer feels comfortable watching my children. He claims that the has to tell them 3 or 4 times before they do something and once Lilly never did what she was told. “It’s just little things but if they won’t listen to small things then they won’t listen on important things” he said. Now, I am not a parent who thinks her children are perfect and I trust when adults tell me something about my children. However, this is outside their normal behavior. Their teachers sing their praises and tell me they always do the right thing even when the teacher is not looking. Maybe always is a bit strong, but you know what I mean. Here is the example he gave me, he asked Tyler to hold his hand in the parking lot. Tyler told him that I don’t make his hold hands, just stay close. My dad told him he wanted to hold his hand and Tyler did. It took me a second to figure out the problem. Tyler wanted to follow my rule not his. I would understand if Tyler had refused to hold hands, but he didn’t he did as he was asked. Sometimes, I feel like the hardest part of having kids is the grandparents. Grandparents are important for children, at least that’s how I feel. It is nice to have a fun relaxed place to go. My grandparents died when I was young and I am so pleased that my children have my parents. Are all grandparents like this? I would really love some advice of to hear about your own experiences.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment